CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

Cubs halt O's rally, third out confirmed by replay

Cubs halt O's rally, third out confirmed by replay

CHICAGO -- The Orioles watched a potential fifth-inning rally go by the wayside, as a crew-chief review confirmed the on-field ruling that catcher John Baker wasn't illegally blocking home plate for the inning-ending out.

Former O's starter and current Cubs righty Jake Arrieta retired the first 13 batters he faced before Chris Davis' one-out single into center field. Arrieta walked J.J. Hardy, and one out later, Caleb Joseph singled into right field. A hustling Davis rounded third and headed home, with right fielder Ryan Sweeney's throw right on target for Baker to apply the tag.

More

O's manager Buck Showalter came out to argue, and the umpiring crew decided to review the play. After 55 seconds, it was determined that Baker was not in violation of Rule 7.13.

"The throwout at the plate, [Davis] probably took a little wide turn there. I haven't seen it [on replay]," Showalter said after the O's 4-1 loss. "I'll have to look at it. If that's not blocking the plate, what is? I'm totally confused now. I hate even coming out there. We all know the rule's got some challenges to it, but boy, I don't know what else. ... You tell me."

Brittany Ghiroli is a reporter for MLB.com. Read her blog, Britt's Bird Watch, and follow her on Facebook and Twitter @britt_ghiroli. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Less