Now Commenting On:

Machado, O's rewarded for standout D by Wilson

Machado, O's rewarded for standout D by Wilson

Machado, O's rewarded for standout D by Wilson

BALTIMORE -- Third baseman Manny Machado collected another defensive honor on Thursday night, taking home the Orioles' top honor for the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year.

Baltimore, which had three Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners, shared American League Defensive Team of the Year honors with the Kansas City Royals after setting a Major League record for fewest errors in a season and most errorless games.

Founded in 2012, the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award is determined by a formula that balances scouting information, sabermetric analysis and basic fielding statistics. One player from each Major League club was recognized as its top defensive player, with Boston Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia and Arizona Diamondbacks outfielder Gerardo Parra taking home top honors in their respective leagues.

Machado, who beat out Texas' Adrian Beltre and Tampa Bay's Evan Longoria for his first career Gold Glove Award, is coming off an outstanding first full season. The 21-year-old led AL third basemen in fielding percentage (.973), assists (355), double plays turned (42) and range factor (3.02), finishing second with 116 putouts. An AL All-Star, Machado posted 32 total zone runs, the number of runs above average the player was worth, based on the number of plays made. That was the highest total for any defensive player in the Majors in 2013 and tied for 12th all time. He also posted the best defensive season by an AL infielder since Mark Belanger was credited with 35 total zone runs in 1975.

Additionally, Machado's 4.4 defensive wins above replacement score led the AL and was the third-highest total in the Majors, tying for the eighth-highest single-season total in history, regardless of position.

The GIBBY trophy for Defensive Player of the Year will be awarded as part of the 2013 Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards, which are based on voting by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni and the Society for American Baseball Research, as well as fan balloting on MLB.com.

Voting launched on Oct. 31 and will continue through Dec. 1. Fans will be able to cast their ballots at MLB.com for the year's top defensive star, with no individual league affiliation.

Brittany Ghiroli is a reporter for MLB.com. Read her blog, Britt's Bird Watch, and follow her on Twitter @britt_ghiroli. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español