Now Commenting On:

{"content":["awards" ] }

Hardy scoops up defensive honor from Wilson

Hardy scoops up defensive honor from Wilson

Hardy scoops up defensive honor from Wilson
BALTIMORE -- Shortstop J.J. Hardy -- fresh off his first career Rawlings Gold Glove Award -- was named the Orioles' Defensive Player of the Year in awards given by Wilson and announced Sunday night on MLB Network.

Angels outfielder Mike Trout was named the American League Defensive Player of the Year, while Michael Bourn earned the same honor in the National League, leading the Braves to be named Wilson's Defensive Team of the Year.

Each team had one player selected as its top defensive player for 2012 in a set of awards in its inaugural year. Unlike the Gold Glove Awards, which are voted on by Major League managers and coaches, these winners were determined by statistical metrics, using the same "shredder system" seen on the sabermetrics-heavy show "Clubhouse Confidential," along with input from MLB Network analysts.

Hardy led AL shortstops in games (158), fielding percentage (.992), putouts (244), assists (529), range factor per game (4.89), defensive wins above replacement (2.8) and total zone runs (21). He made just six errors in 779 chances at the position and his fielding percentage was the highest mark by an AL shortstop since Mike Bordick's .998 for the Orioles in 2002.

Additionally, Hardy's 529 assists were the most by an AL shortstop since Cal Ripken Jr. had 531 for the Orioles in 1989. Hardy is the fourth Baltimore shortstop to win a Gold Glove, joining Luis Aparicio (1964 and '66), Mark Belanger ('69, '71, '73-78) and Ripken ('91-92).

The GIBBY trophy for Defensive Player of the Year will be awarded as part of the 2012 Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards, which are based on voting by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni and the Society for American Baseball Research, as well as fan balloting on MLB.com.

From Nov. 12 through Dec. 2, fans will be able to cast their ballots at MLB.com for the year's top defensive star, with no individual league affiliation.

Brittany Ghiroli is a reporter for MLB.com. Read her blog, Britt's Bird Watch, and follow her on Twitter @britt_ghiroli. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["awards" ] }
{"content":["awards" ] }
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español